Newton Fund

Change text size:

A- A A+


We've moved! Visit our new website: to find out more about the Newton Fund.

The Newton Fund builds research and innovation partnerships with 17 active partner countries to support their economic development and social welfare, and to develop their research and innovation capacity for long-term sustainable and equitable growth.

By fostering world-class collaborations between academics and innovators in the UK and developing countries we aim to address critical development challenges including: poverty, access to healthcare, climate change, and peace and security. As well as growing the research and innovation capacity of developing countries, the programmes we fund contribute to the continued strength of the UK’s research and innovation system, and support our wider prosperity and global influence.

The Newton Fund was launched in 2014 and originally consisted of £75 million each year for 5 years. In the 2015 UK Spending Review it was agreed to extend the Newton Fund from 2019 to 2021 and double the investment, leading to a £735 million UK investment up to 2021, with partner countries providing matched resources within the fund. 

The Newton Fund covers three broad activities:

  • People: increasing capacity in science and innovation, individually and institutionally in partner countries.
  • Research: research collaborations on development topics.
  • Translation: creating collaborative solutions to development challenges and strengthening innovation systems.

The Newton Fund is managed by the UK Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) and delivered through seven UK delivery partners and 87 in-country funding partners. Delivery partners develop and run calls, and allocate and manage the money they receive as part of the Newton Fund. More information about in-country delivery partners can be found through our About Partner Countries pages. Individually the UK delivery partners are:

Activities must be developed with at least one of the partnering countries. These countries are all on the OECD DAC (the Development Assistant Committee of the OECD) list of ODA eligible recipients. The Newton Fund activities offered in each country are chosen and developed in collaboration with local government and funders. This ensures the programmes offered meet local development priorities. The countries are:

  • Brazil 
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Egypt
  • India 
  • Indonesia
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • South Africa
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Vietnam

Any activity that a delivery partner supports through the Newton Fund must demonstrate the following:

  • Eligibility for official development assistance (ODA)  
  • That they utilise an open and transparent process 
  • That the project addresses a strong need and has a clear benefit in-country 
  • That the activity would not take place without the Newton Fund 
  • Matched funding and/or matched effort from the partnering country 
  • ​Scientific excellence and value for money

For a full list of current funding opportunities visit the funding opportunities section.